Wissahickon Watershed: Clean Your Water

Wissahickon Watershed

The Wissahickon Creek starts in Montgomery Township in Montgomery County. After flowing for 27 miles, the Wissahickon drains into the Schuylkill River.

The Wissahickon Creek Watershed covers a much larger area of 64 square miles, and is comprised of fifteen (15) municipalities in Montgomery County and the City of Philadelphia, including part or all of Abington Township, Ambler Borough, Cheltenham Township, Horsham Township, Lansdale Borough, Lower Gwynedd Township, Montgomery Township, North Wales Borough, Philadelphia County, Springfield Township, Upper Dublin Township, Upper Gwynedd Township, Upper Moreland Township, Whitemarsh Township, Whitpain Township, and Worcester Township.

We've developed a film that looks at the beauty of the Wissahickon, the stresses it faces, and a few of the many organizations working to restore and protect the "gem of a place" upon which so many rely. Check out this trailer:

You can view the Full Version - A Healthy Wissahickon: We All Have a Part to Play from GreenTreks Network on Vimeo.


How Healthy is the Wissahickon Creek?     Get involved in your community!